Hummus Sampling That Is To Take Place At Sean Cumming’s Irish Pub In OKC

 Last week I penned a story about an illustrious family in Oklahoma City who has two members that engage in  monthly ritual that includes an expedition to a physician’s office where one of them has his blood drawn and after the extraction is completed they return to the home of the other one where they commemorate the event by drinking wine and consuming pita chips that are immersed in hummus. They had traditionally purchased the hummus at the Camilya’s Restaurant in Quail Plaza on May Avenue, but that establishment is no longer in operation, and they were compelled to locate an alternative source for that Middle Eastern concoction as a result. A friend had suggested that they go to Baba G Mediterranean Grill on West Memorial Avenue to establish a connection where they can acquire hummus and they subsequently did so, and I detailed how they concluded that Baba G ‘s hummus was among the best in the Oklahoma City area after they had sampled it. Subsequently, another member of that family contacted me, despite the fact that I did not identify the family by name, and advised me that “everyone knows that the best hummus in Oklahoma City is made at ZamZam Mediterranean Grill on MacArthur Avenue.” She further advised me that her siblings fondness for the hummus made at Baba G’s may have been influenced by the formidable  amount of wine that they had consumed, and suggested that  I should research that aspect of their experience to see if I could establish such a correlation. Another individual saw fit to contact me and said that the hummus at the appropriately named  Hummus Mediterranean Café on May Avenue would also serve as a new source for that family, and that at all costs they should avoid purchasing the  hummus that is sold  at  convenience  stores in the Oklahoma City area. The matter was further complicated when  Sean and Cathy Cummings invited me to be a guest on their  Sunday radio show, “The Fired Up Kitchen,” and Sean, who is the owner and operator of the  Irish pub that bears his name on May Avenue, said that he has a sister who makes hummus in a variety of different flavors in Kansas City, Missouri. With characteristic generosity, Sean told me  that he would be visiting her this week, and would bring back samples of her hummus concoctions  and  that I could sample them at his establishment. I promptly agreed to his proposal, and look forward to devouring the hummus  in all of its variety that is made by his sibling.

Leave a comment